Flash Fiction: Tell Tale

I live alone and I dissect the silence. I live alone, and I dream. In my dreams she is safe and whole. In my dreams she paints a swath of blue across an unblemished canvas. I am the one who mars the canvas with red. Even though it never happened that way.

In my dreams, there is a heart on a silver platter in my room. Someone left it for me hours ago – it’s cold, wet meat, caked in browning, congealed blood. There is a pounding in my ears – I feel my own chest desperately, groping at my ribcage, making sure my own heart is in place, is still beating, is not telltale on a silver platter in my room. This is her heart, of course. The one I took. The one they never found.

heartonaplateThere are acres and acres of trees around my house. Mine is the only house that rests upon this soil. And it is good soil, fertile and ready and easy to turn in the spring. I have no companions, save the ones that I see in the corner of my eye, the ones I can only catch in my peripheral vision. The wild boar who waits for me with red eyes and flared, flaring nostrils.

I live alone, and I dream. I dream of the boar and I dream of him speaking in tongues. I stand still among a mob of people in dark suits as they comb a lost and barren field. I stand still and I watch and I wait, the heart on the silver platter in my room beating, beating hard, anticipating. Not my heart, and my heart. Her heart, and her heart.

There is no way they can know, I think. The boar says differently.

I live alone, and I dissect the silence. I live alone, and the silence dissects me.

Leave a Reply

