Wibbly Wobbly Revise-y Wimey

Hoo boy. Where do I begin?

I have been neglecting this poor, poor blog. There are a few reasons for this, though I can’t claim any of them are good reasons.

The first: I wrote and finished the first in a YA Gaslamp-esque Fantasy during the months of November and December. I haven’t had many ideas for flash fiction or prose poetry in the meantime, so I’ve focused on revising.

I also started a second internship, this one in-house, with Soho Press and Soho Teen. This means I mail out a lot of arcs/galleys, do a ton of proofreading, and random marketing tasks. I love that I get to do so much reading as work. It’s honestly awesome. I still intern for the literary agent as well – we get along incredibly well, have very similar taste, and usually feel very similarly about projects. I am gonna be really sad when I can no longer intern for him.

But, since I still work at Books of Wonder on the weekends, it leaves little time for my dear brain to focus on anything other than the projects I’ve finished or am revising.

No more. I am normally full of ideas – I have enough novel ideas to last me years, even if I write 3 novels a year, as was last year’s pattern. I feel as if I can never have enough time to explore every idea I’ve ever had, and will have, which doesn’t seem A_small_cup_of_coffeeentirely fair.

But I’ve decided, while I’m waiting for feedback on the YA, I’m going to write something just for me.  I’m hoping it will be silly and make me laugh, and that it will also break my heart. I have found that I am drawn to quite a bit of heartbreak when it comes to writing. There will be silly sci-fi – think Wibbly Wobbly Timey Wimey – and a main character named Suki and some sexy aliens and some not so sexy aliens and some very, very dark antagonists (I’m gonna go for Martin Chatwin, but don’t quote me on that just yet).

I am so excited that I’m binge-drinking coffee which probably the wrong move, but oh well.

So there you have it! I keep thinking about things I’d like to post, so I’m hoping to post more again very soon.

Comments
One Response to “Wibbly Wobbly Revise-y Wimey”
  1. Writing and finishing a novel is a good reason to not blog!

    Ah, that Doctor Who quote. Now I have to watch Blink again for the 1,000,000th time 🙂

Leave a Reply

