New Year, New Faces, New York

This year there was a huge,  unanticipated change to my life. If you read my post from last year, you’ll know that I was itching for SOMETHING to happen. That I was traveling all over, trying to find a place where I fit. My parents moved out of my childhood home and to a new state entirely, leaving me, more or less, unmoored. I had a job I liked, friends I love, a home I was proud of. But there was something missing suddenly, and I knew that my travels were part of finding out what it was. In 2013 I found out Austin was lovely, an amazing place crawling with history and delicious food. LA was cloaked in smog but somehow still beautiful. The more I got to know it, the more I began to feel like I could live there. Idaho was warm first and then cold, Lake Coeur D’Alene shining like a beacon in both extremes, pine trees and rolling mountains greeting me first and then kissing me goodbye. But nothing made me certain.

Then in 2014, I did everything I set out to do. I edited my drafts and submitted them, even getting a request from a couple of agents. I wrote two new manuscripts, one of them finished back in August and one of them still in its first draft stages (thank you, NaNoWriMo!). And I’m fudging this one a bit, but I finished a screenplay, though it’s actually more of a TV pilot. Whatever, I’m proud of it, and it’s done. So there!

ManhattanSkylineBut I didn’t anticipate being asked to pick up and move to New York City, nor did I anticipate getting an awesome internship with an awesome literary agent, nor did I expect to start working at a historic children’s bookstore in Manhattan, where I’ve made friends with some awesome people (including Adam Silvera, who has a fantastic book coming out in June that everyone should read called More Happy Than Not), and I certainly didn’t expect to be living in area with so much political turmoil, with practically a front row seat (those officers were killed not even a mile from where I live). I suppose once I stopped looking for it, it got impatient and decided to find me instead.

2013 was a year of aimless searching, a year where I did a lot but felt like I accomplished very little. And 2014 was a year of huge change, a year of morphing possibility, and I am certainly ready to see what 2015 brings. I’m loathe to make resolutions because I honestly have no idea where my life is going from here. And though just thinking about it makes my heart beat a hair faster, I think I’m ready.

Next year, I’ll probably be posting all about how I had to eat my words. But hey – I’m here to take that chance.

Here goes.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

