On Finishing What You Start and Binge Watching Buffy

I completed a 1st draft of a 90,000 word WIP last week. It as the same manuscript I started and wrote 50,000 of during NaNoWriMo. Between November 30th and December 18th, I wrote another 40,000 words. Naturally, my head just about exploded. I was emotionally gutted, from finishing the manuscript and events within it, so where did I turn? To Buffy the Vampire Slayer, naturally. Why, you might ask? (Or not, if you’re a savvy Buffy watcher) The reason is simple: I know what to expect. I know what happens. I know the ways in which I will be emotionally wrenched around. Maybe I should have gone with a sitcom staple – How I Met Your Mother, maybe? But the twisted thing about being a writer is, even when you’re exhausted emotionally, you still crave more. We are screwed up people. Yes, I’m finally beginning to understand this.

sleepykittyThere are only two things left to do from here: edit the damn thing until it barely resembles its former self, or watch more Buffy as a coping mechanism and pretend the outside world doesn’t exist.

Which would you choose? (Bee Tee Dubs, this is a trick question. There is only one right answer.)

On another note, Christmas is arriving soon, and it will be my first Christmas without my family. The Boyfriend and I are in New York for the holiday, and I’m actually the tiniest bit excited. It’s a new adventure I haven’t tackled, and I do plan on tackling it. With pajama’d gusto. So, if I don’t manage to get another post up before the new year, Happy Holidays to all! I hope you have a lovely Christmas or a lovely last few days of Hanukkah!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
6 Responses to “On Finishing What You Start and Binge Watching Buffy”
  1. A.D. Martin says:

    Editing can be just as fun as watching Buffy.

  2. Doug Daniel says:

    Both– obviously both. You might have to tag-team it, but otherwise, not even a question…..

Leave a Reply

