In Which A First Draft is Finished

Late last night, I typed “The End” on a first draft of my WIP. I have been working on this for longer than I wanted, and finally decided in October that I would have this done by the beginning of December. I might not have participated in NaNoWriMo, but I could write as though I was. I lagged a little, thanks to some distractions in the form of unexpected auditions, but I finally sat down at my computer and banged out the last 3,000 words. No whiskey needed. nanowrimo

It is a relief and also daunting, because revisions are definitely in order, and there are shiny new ideas pulling me in other directions. I might give this one a rest for a bit and come back to it later on, when my eyes are fresh. I know that’s always a good idea regardless, but if I’m working on a new story all together, it might be a while before this one is modified.

But, hopefully this means I will have some new flash fiction for those of you who prefer to read them than my normal posts, and that my creative juices can once again start flowing in other directions!

For those of you who participated in NaNoWriMo, how do you feel? Did you “win”, or at least make a good dent in a project you like?

Comments
2 Responses to “In Which A First Draft is Finished”
  1. Dave says:

    Congrats on finishing the first draft, Hannah. Always a great accomplishment. You probably should put it away for a few weeks and let your mind wander off to some of those other projects. As always, looking forward to future flash fiction 🙂

    • Definitely feels like a weight off! Already shiny new ideas are taking over…it might be a while before I get to revisions! And yes, hopefully flash fiction is on the horizon 🙂

      Thanks for your comments, as always 🙂

Leave a Reply

