Happy Anniversary to Us

I have been a bad, bad blogger recently. Not that I’ve ever been the example for good bloggers (sporadic posts, much?). But I logged into WordPress today with the intention of writing a quick update, and found a Happy Anniversary notification from WordPress. Apparently, I have been blogging on here, writing flash fiction and book reviews, for four years now. FOUR YEARS.

Yes, it took me some time to find a groove. I wrote a lot of things no one cared about. I posted sub-par fiction, talked about things unrelated to what I was here to do: write. And it’s only been within the last couple of years that I realized just how to do that in my own way on this forum. Lots of bloggers talk about writing itself, their success, their lessons learned, their rejections and their acceptances. A lot of people rely on those blogs (myself included) to let them know they aren’t alone, to obtain great advice, to connect with other writers. And I tried that too, for a while.

But no one was reading those, not really. And that’s because my delivery wasn’t always sincere, and I knew it. At heart, I realized what I’m here to do is not give you advice. It’s not to tell you about my life as a writer, as a person struggling to have the career I dream about. It’s to give you something to think about. To write something that keeps you interested in the stories I have the ability to tell. To show you a small picture of a bigger world.

So I want to thank everyone who reads this blog and enjoys what I write. Who stops by to scan a short piece of fiction and perhaps leaves with a real interest in my stories. Even those who barely read before moving on. You are the reason I continue to write here, and you are the reason I strive to get better.

Happy Anniversary, everyone. Thank you for an inspiring four years.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
2 Responses to “Happy Anniversary to Us”
  1. Dave says:

    Well, happy anniversary Miss Hannah. I for one have been enjoying your blog for a while now, and always look forward to your posts. Keep up the wonderful writing. BTW – are you still doing your photography? I clicked over to your photography blog a few weeks back and really liked your pictures. You should add to it.

    Anyway, celebrate and enjoy your four years in the blogosphere πŸ™‚

    • Thanks so much for always commenting, Dave πŸ™‚ I’m glad you’ve been enjoying the blog for so long, it’s part of what keeps me at it!

      I definitely do the photography on the side, but I haven’t been keeping up with the blog – I probably should just delete it…I just never do enough to post there. Oh well!

      Thanks again for all of your support the last few years πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

