2012 In Review

Well, I may be a few days late to the game but here I am! Reviewing my 2012 and setting up my goals for 2013.

It’s been a hard couple of years. Family drama, personal drama, moving

Screenshot from the short film Parasite Rex

Screenshot from the short film Parasite Rex

several times have all made it difficult to find my focus and really get close to my projects. Despite that, I feel I’ve had some significant successes this year. I acted in a musical film which was a terrific learning experience, wrote quite a bit more flash fiction than I have in years past (and this was a hit on the blog, which surprised me), acted in a more challenging role than I’ve ever had in a short film, and really got to work on a novel that I started years ago and never finished. I’m nearly done with that novel (knock on wood), and that is one of the goals for 2013.

So without further ado, goals for 2013:

1. Finish current WIP.

2. Start and complete another story that’s been brewing for a few years now.

3. Act more! I’d like to take on some more serious roles in 2013.

4. Finish my screenplay.

I don’t think these are going to be difficult to accomplish – I just have to buckle down and stop being all avoid-y. Writing can be an excruciating and difficult process, but it’s also one of the most rewarding things I’ve ever done and I am going to be better about giving myself that reward.

So what about you? Any goals for 2013?

Comments
4 Responses to “2012 In Review”
  1. Maggie says:

    Good luck on your goals!

  2. Dave says:

    You’ve accomplished some great stuff this year, Hannah. You should be proud.

    I can thank you for introducing me to flash fiction. I only wrote two pieces, but I enjoyed writing them.

    Is that you in the screenshot? Any way to see this film?

    Great goals for the coming year.

    I’ve got some as well, but I assume you already saw them …

    Best of luck in 2013. Looking forward to keeping up with all your activities.

  3. Thank you πŸ™‚ I’m mostly proud of the fact that I turned you on to flash fiction! I really liked both pieces. And yes, that’s me in the screenshot. We’ll be submitting to festivals, so I’m sure I’ll have an update if it’s accepted anywhere! I have also checked out your goals, and I think writing in a new genre is my favorite. Mainly because it’s going to be difficult but so rewarding. Good luck to you as well, and I know I’ll be reading your stuff in the near future!

Leave a Reply

