The 2012 Oscars? Yawn.

I’m late on this post, but to be perfectly honest, I wasn’t very interested in the subject. I didn’t even bother trying to watch the Oscars this year – the first time in a long time. Why? Because I’m tired of the game. I’m tired of watching older, white Hollywood congratulate one another. There are so many films that were shunned, so many films that were, in my opinion, better than most of those nominated.  The Artist as best picture? Sure it was cute, but it in no way deserved Best Picture.

I learned the other day that 77% of the Academy, the people that vote to decide who wins what, is white males over the age of 62. If that doesn’t tell you worlds about the Awards, then you aren’t paying attention.

Film is changing. The kinds of films that are being released every year are very different from the traditional movies of Hollywood’s past. But the Academy doesn’t seem to realize that, so those films that do still fit the traditional mold, despite their mediocrity, are the films that continue to reign at the awards.

I didn’t watch the awards this year, and I don’t feel any less enlightened for it.

What do you think about the awards this year? Are you satisfied with them, or did they  leave something to be desired?

 

 

Comments
7 Responses to “The 2012 Oscars? Yawn.”
  1. I agree! Overall, nothing very memorable happened, there were only a few points that stood out to me. But I still love watching it every year.

  2. Charlie Sierra says:

    I agree, seemed like alot of forcasting, like you already knew who the winners were gonna be. Too much BS when it comes to all the glam and glitz.

  3. Jared says:

    Award shows could possibly be the dumbest, most self-indulgent events in popular culture. I think I was doing anything other than watching that show that night.

    • I think the Oscars have the potential to change with the times and be relevant – especially as a filmmaker, I’d like to think that I could one day be recognized in that way for my work. But what I do is out there enough that, with the way things are right now, I never will. And that’s really discouraging.

      • Jared says:

        I understand. Being recognized is nice, but I’d take a “nice job” from a friend over a trophy from a group of egotists any day ; )

  4. Dave says:

    As a young, female filmmaker, you certainly have reasons to be discouraged when it comes to the academy and its awards. Let’s hope that there’s some change in the near future.

    I’m not young, not female, and not a filmmaker, but I agree with all your points. I wasn’t interested in the least in watching the Oscar’s. It just seemed too far removed from what mainstream America likes to see (but then sometimes the elite of the moviemaking industry use that to claim we’re just a bunch of lowbrows so we don’t matter anyway 🙂

Leave a Reply

