In Which I Get On My Soapbox

I have to tell you something. I am in Independent. I think that in the past, both the Republican and Democratic parties have had their merits and their issues. I’ll be honest – until Palin showed up, I was not afraid of a McCain presidency.

But this year is different. More and more, I have found myself terrified by the candidates that claim to represent the Republican party. What used to be a political party that was, for all intents and purposes, focused on the politics, has become a party of Religious Righters desperate to remake America so that the wealthy stay wealthy, and women and homosexuals are denied what I feel are basic human rights (I realize that not everyone agrees about what basic rights truly are, but that’s not the issue). The Republican candidates look more to me like the Evil League of Evil (Thank you, Joss Whedon) than people who truly have your best interest in mind.

Tell me: If you have traditionally identified yourself as a Republican, do you feel that this image represents you? Are you the type of person who would vote for a man like Rick Santorum, for example, who has said that he believes the only purpose women serve is to have children and serve their husband? Who feels that, because he thinks gay marriage is wrong, it should not be legal? Who thinks that the wealthy should continue to receive bigger tax breaks than everyone else because they are, supposedly, job creators (even when research says otherwise)?

What happened to separation of church and state? Something our forefathers fought hard to maintain because they were tired of religious persecution? The WHOLE REASON America came to be? What happened to the idea that we could live freely in a country where the beliefs of others were not forced upon us?

I can’t believe that I am being told by Republicans what I can and can’t do with my body. They don’t want me to have access to birth control, they don’t want me to have access to Planned Parenthood, and apparently Rick Santorum doesn’t want me to have access to a vote, only therapy, where I will learn my  place as second to men. Why on earth are these even issues? Why are these things to build a platform on? Shouldn’t we be talking about the economy and what happens to us now? It seems that the abortion and gay rights issue is being used as a way to draw in those ultra conservatives who don’t realize that they would not benefit from a Republican president, because they do not reside in the upper class.

I think Jesus would be horrified by this outrageous war Republicans are waging on Equality and civil rights. And the worst part? It’s being waged in His name. This may come as a shock to many of you, but Jesus taught us to love thy neighbor. Judgment is for God – not you. Therefore, it is not for these men to decide who gets to do what. If it doesn’t affect you, it isn’t your problem. It’s God’s.

I apologize for getting up on my soapbox. But I’m very angry right now, and I know I’m only going to get angrier before this is over. I only ask that you get informed and that you get scared – it’s the only way we’re going to get through this election in one piece.

 

 

Leave a Reply

