In Which I Ask You Not to Hate Valentine’s Day

This is becoming an annual thing for me, writing about Valentine’s Day. But every year I hear about how much single people hate Valentine’s Day. It’s a Hallmark holiday, it’s only purpose is to trick you into buying things. You know what? This is true for every holiday, but most of us seem to have no qualms celebrating the other ones, no matter our religious affiliation.

I’m not in that party. I don’t view Valentine’s Day as a holiday that only celebrates romantic relationships. As you’ll see from my posts from 2010 and 2011 , I view Valentine’s Day as a day to celebrate all love. I like buying the box of chocolates from the drugstore and eating it with myself. I like getting the goofy little cardboard Valentines you passed out to friends as a grade-schooler. I like watching chick flicks because this is one of the only days of the year that I really do it.

There’s no reason to get worked up over being single. There’s no reason to celebrate SAD, no reason to wear black and make bad, drunken decisions. Not that those aren’t fun sometimes (no, I’m not advocating bad decisions, no, no), but don’t do it in the name of Valentine’s induced depression.

 

You love someone and someone loves you. Your mother will always love you, no matter what. Your best friends are your best friends because you have developed a love that is unique and beautiful. Your pets are devoted to you, and even a love as simple as that is one to celebrate.

So stop crying through the Wedding Singer and go give someone a Valentine, for no other reason than to celebrate love, in all and any of its forms.

Comments
2 Responses to “In Which I Ask You Not to Hate Valentine’s Day”
  1. Anika Ehlers says:

    I agreee!

    check out my blog! I just posted a video of montage of some amazing love scences in movies. I think you would like it! http://amediatedinspiration.wordpress.com/
    Follow my blog, and re-blog to help me get more followers!
    Thanks and Happy Valentine’s Day! keep blogging! 🙂

  2. Maggie says:

    Definitely! Valentine’s Day is not just about romantic love between couples.

Leave a Reply

