5 More Things That Inspire Me

5 more things that inspire my writing, in no particular order at all.

1. Photography. Either my own or someone else’s. Photography captures the world in a unique way, gives you a perspective that you may not have uncovered before. Photography often helps me with setting and mood when I’m writing.

A photo I took in Denver, Colorado

2. Friends. Getting together with friends and discussing ideas is always so inspiring. Their thoughts can inject new life into your concepts, so never underestimate the value of having friends as a writer.

3. Books. I used to try to not read any books when I was actively working on a story because I didn’t want to be influenced. But I found that when I wasn’t constantly being presented with something creative, I’d find my own motivation waning. Reading a good books makes me want to write a better one. Reading a bad book motivates me even more!

The book I just read

4. J.J. Abrams. The creator of Lost, Cloverfield, Super 8, the Star Trek remake….J.J. Abrams has become as sacred to me as Joss Whedon. And ladies and gentlemen, I didn’t believe that was even a possibility.

Hey J.J., let's make camera toting babies

5. The Denver International Film Festival. Every year this festival shows some pretty amazing films. I try to go to as many as possible during the week and a half that the festival runs. This past year I saw 11 films and once it was over I started a screenplay I felt so inspired to write because of the films I’d seen.

So there you have it – 5 more things that inspire me and my writing. What inspires you?

Comments
2 Responses to “5 More Things That Inspire Me”
  1. You inspire me. The motivation and persistance you show on a daily basis, and your ability to maintain being highly passionate about the things you love and love to write about is also inspiring. The fact that you tolerate my borderline pathetic attempts at creativity (at least when compared to yours), and even still support and encourage my efforts is a feat unto itself. You know and I know that you are creative force to be reckoned with. You may require more home-cooked meals than I typically feed myself, but in a way I guess I owe you at least that much for the example you lead by every day. I am not only inspired, but sometimes envious that you can take all that stuff in your brain and get it down on paper. I know it isn’t easy… otherwise I would have a lot more of my own writing to brag about. And don’t get me started on how much you are able to read as well. Basically you kick ass, and I thought you should know. I miss you, and I love you.

    • You are ridiculous and amazing. I do require more home cooked meals than the average person, but I hope you know that you give me more than that. You are part of the reason I am so motivated to write and be creative – you believe in me and you make me feel like my ideas mean something and are worth putting on paper. I admire your creativity just as much (and I don’t think that your attempts are borderline pathetic, quite the opposite). You kick ass, too, you know. I wouldn’t be with you if you didn’t : ). Miss you. Love you. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

