Lost in La La Land

I’ve been floating around in La La land, lately. The Boyfriend has been out of town for the last two weeks, I’ve been zoning out of narrative fiction and into the world of film again (as I do several times a year), and I’ve been reevaluating my life and my goals. I realize that New Years has not yet occurred but I can’t help myself – time alone makes me reflect far too much.

But something kind of magical happened the other night: I bought the “Sunshine” soundtrack (and if you haven’t seen this film, you are MISSING OUT) and started playing it. Immediately, I felt the need to write. So I sat down at my computer and for the first time in several days, I did not turn on another episode of “How I Met Your Mother” (damn you, Netflix); I opened up my screenplay, and I plowed through ten pages, which puts me nearly halfway through the script.

Yesterday, I decided to try the soundtrack again. It was an experiment to see if the writing binge created by this music was a one time thing, or a real prompter.

And guess what, folks? I wrote another five pages. I think this is the beginning of a beautiful friendship….

What about you? Does this time of year have you in a funk or have you been diligently creating?

Leave a Reply

