The Denver International Film Festival is Over – Now What?

Now, I write. I’ve been slacking on NaNoWriMo, and part of that is because I’ve been indulging in my other passion – film. The Denver International Film Festival is a great film festival – there’s always so much to see and so many different genres to appeal to a broad audience. They showcase a lot of local talent and this year was a great year for female directors and writers, something that, if you’ve been reading this blog for a few years, you know I harp on a lot. I think the lack of women in film has been appalling and I think it’s been largely due to the fact that women were not perceived as competent by executive producers. I think that’s slowly changing, and I’m so happy about it.

I’ve been lagging behind in NaNoWriMo and I finally realized that a big part of that is because a screenplay idea has been brewing in my head for the last couple of weeks now. More than my novel, I think about this screenplay. So I’m trying to make a decision: concede that I will not finish NaNo this year and work on my screenplay, or attempt to finish NaNo and try not to let the screenplay get in the way.

I have a lot to think about, and a lot to post about. I think I’ll do reviews of several of the films I saw and also try to give updates on NaNoWriMo progress.

What about you? How are is your NaNoWriMo progress? Anything getting in your way?

Comments
5 Responses to “The Denver International Film Festival is Over – Now What?”
  1. Yeah, I’m not donig NaNo this year. I decided that a while ago. I’ve been focusing on my screenplays.

    I finished the 3rd Draft of my Drama Spec: Things People Do, and will submit it into 2 or 3 Screenplay competitions starting next month.

    Other than that, I’m developing my next screenplay currently titled “Sylvia”.It’s somewhat of a sci-fi/psychological thriller set in present day.

    My heart and mind have really been focused on my screenplays, so I’ll proably let NaNo slide for another year or two while I try to get these projects done to build up some kind of writing “portfolio” to shop around.

    • I think it’s great that you’re still working on *something* even if it’s not NaNoWriMo. I’m like you, because I write in two very different formats (narrative fiction and screenwriting) I go through phases where I prefer to just focus on one or the other.

      Good luck on submitting to competitions, I think that is really awesome!

      • Thanks. I figure it’s time to get out there and DO SOMETHING.

        So, have you decided what you’re going to do yet?

      • Agreed! After writing this post yesterday, my mind made itself up. I figure, I was having a hard time starting this novel and NaNoWriMo helped me get to a place in the story where I could leave off and then come back and start up again with few issues. But now…the screenplay is calling to me. I sat down and wrote twenty pages last night. So, decision made!

  2. Wow, cranked out 20pgs! NICE!

Leave a Reply

