NaNoWriMo and the Denver International Film Festival

This has been a crazy week. I’m trying to write 1700 words a day and attend films at the festival here in Denver at the same. I work in the same building where most of the films are showing, and I have been very lucky in that I have been able to attend many screenings for free. So every year I do my best to take advantage of the film festival being right here on my doorstep because I know how rare that is.

So far I’ve seen some great films and one very, very bad one – It’s called Green in case you ever come across it somewhere. I’m telling you right now – do not watch this movie. If you find it on netflix or some arthouse movie theater, just walk away. It is not worth your time.

A movie that is completely worth your time is called Tyrannosaur. It’s a British film about an old, bitter man who meets a young idealistic woman. Each of them makes assumptions about the other and their lives but come to learn that they are both more alike than they ever could have imagined. It is beautifully shot, beautifully written, and amazingly acted.

I’m definitely behind in my writing – I’m about a day’s worth of words behind, which isn’t terrible, considering. I’m not uninterested in my story and I am definitely able to get the majority of my goal through. But that darn film festival!

Next week, once the festival is over, I’ll be able to truly concentrate on my goal. Until then, the movies await!

Leave a Reply

