Twitter Hopeless

I am no good at Twitter. I try to be, I really do. When I’m on, I’m on! When I’m off, I’m just…gone. When she’s not talking about structure (thank you!), Kristen Lamb talks about how to use twitter effectively to build your platform as a writer. And I have to admit, I have read the advice, and it makes perfect sense to me. And yet…I still fail to have the presence I know I need to have.

So what is it that is keeping me from truly being present on social media, from blogging every day (besides the fact that I don’t have internet until Friday….), from doing as much writing as I know I should be doing to stay sharp? I feel like some of it is fear of making that commitment, of seeing things happen for me. Am I afraid of success? Possibly. Probably. Or maybe I’m afraid of the work it takes to be successful. I shudder at the thought – I know so little about myself.

I have been making far too many excuses lately. First there was a house to search for, then a house to buy, and a house to move into, and things to unpack, and a vacation to embark on. But why have I let that hold me back, when there are other bloggers doing the same thing yet making progress in their work?

I am so excited for NaNoWriMo. No more excuses, no more complaints, no more whining. It’s time to buckle down and get to work.

Have you ever felt like you were in a rut? What helped you pull yourself out of it?

Comments
6 Responses to “Twitter Hopeless”
  1. I can’t seem to get excited about twitter either… I’m just not that exciting. Ha!

  2. Kana Tyler says:

    For what it’s worth… I started Tweeting with that idea of building a “presence,” tried to think of things to share that would be interesting and useful and not (too much) shameless self-promotion… And got nowhere! Finally I gave up on that and started just sharing blurbs from those funny bits in the day (a humorous readerboard or vanity plate, something the kids said, a funny misunderstanding…) and suddenly picked up a few followers! More to the point, those folks found my blog, which is, after all, the platform where I have room to SAY things. Lesson to me: don’t take myself too seriously. 😉

    • I like that – just show people you’re a fun, interesting person. I agree that it shouldn’t always be about being “the writer” 100% of the time – part of why readers want to read your stories is they like *you*.

      Thanks for sharing the lesson : P

  3. cbsena says:

    I like the idea of building a platform through this media, Good post Hannah.

Leave a Reply

