Flash Fiction / Prose Poetry: The Man (and the Desert)

And there was a man. And there was a heart murmur, and a tumbleweed and some other things. And we passed the abandoned train tracks on our way to the end of the line, tracks scattered with rusted coal cars. Coal cars ransacked and graffiti-ed and completely lost to the shepherd that used to look for them. We rumbled through the desert and forgot ourselves and for a moment I believed in a god that believed in me too. I sipped the coffee that is found in the greasy spoons that everyone forgot, and I know what a real dead end looks like. I left those places hands full of god, the faces of other diners sunken. They drank their watery coffee and they waited for the next person who is not as selfish as I.  I left them behind. I kept moving forward.

We saw dilapidated buildings, farms that only existed in make believe and dreams broken down on the side of the tracks, dreams that were ages old but still sparked in the ruins. And there was a man. And there was a heart murmur, and a tumbleweed, and a tail spin and a grain of sand and a cup of watery coffee and a fear so thick it hurt to swallow. We may die here. And I will have forgotten your face. And there was a man. I didn’t think about him as I left. Now as we hurtle towards the nothing, towards billions and trillions grains of sand full of sun, I think about him all the time. I have forgotten his face. I have forgotten your face. But I believe in things now. There is something to grasp with cold fingers. At least there is that. At least there is that. I have come to appreciate cheap coffee.

Comments
2 Responses to “Flash Fiction / Prose Poetry: The Man (and the Desert)”
  1. That’s really good.

    I love the imagery and it just reads really well. Nice use of pictures as well.

    Great work.

Leave a Reply

