In Which I Discover the Night Circus

I am reading an advanced reader’s copy of Erin Morgenstern’s The Night Circus. I am not finished – I am a mere 200 pages into the book, and I am mesmerized.

There’s something about the way it is written, the slow, dreamy pacing and the attention to sensory detail that keeps me reading after I should have turned out my lights and gone to bed. It is touted as a love story between two magicians but I think  more accurately (so far) it is a love story between the author and the circus she has created. No matter. I am enchanted, completely lost within the haze of bonfire smoke and the smell of deep, dark caramel dipped apples.

The characters are full and easy to imagine, and their plight, though not quite so dire yet, is obviously going to be a problem, for them and for the night circus, and that keeps me reading.

Her website is just as enchanting as the book. Read her Flax-Golden Tales and tell me you aren’t mesmerized. I dare you.

This book is being printed in 122 different countries. The film rights have been sold. Its first printing will start at 175,000 copies. Erin Morgernstern is a first time author.

Needless to say, I am horribly jealous and obviously so thrilled for her and the fact that there is still hope for first time authors. Good luck to her, and pick up a copy when it comes out!

Comments
5 Responses to “In Which I Discover the Night Circus”
  1. SandySays1 says:

    It so refreshing to have someone recognize that break-neck pace isn’t a requisite to have writing capture and enthrall the reader.
    Sandy
    http://www.sandysays1.wordpress.com

    • It’s very true! Although using a slower pace can be very tricky – Erin Morgenstern does it the exact right way, but I’ve read books that have a hard time managing it.

  2. celiabowen says:

    I’m also reading an advanced copy and have fallen in love SO much… I’ve created a fan based web site. Come check it out! thenightcircus.net (also on twitter @celia_bowen)

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] The Quill, The Key, and The Compass I am reading an advanced reader’s copy of Erin Morgenstern’s The Night Circus. I am not finished – I am a mere 200 pages into the book, and I am mesmerized. There’s something about the way it is written, the slow, dreamy pacing and the attention to sensory detail that keeps me reading after I should have turned out my lights and gone to bed. It is touted as a love story between two magicians but I think more accurately (so far) it is a love story between the author and the circus she has created. No matter. I am enchanted, completely lost within the haze of bonfire smoke and the smell of deep, dark caramel dipped apples. The characters are full and easy to imagine, and their plight, though not quite so dire yet, is obviously going to be a problem, for them and for the night circus, and that keeps me reading. Her website is just as enchanting as the book. Read her Flax-Golden Tales and tell me you aren’t mesmerized. I dare you. This book is being printed in 122 different countries. The film rights have been sold. Its first printing will start at 175,000 copies. Erin Morgernstern is a first time author. Needless to say, I am horribly jealous and obviously so thrilled for her and the fact that there is still hope for first time authors. Good luck to her, and pick up a copy when it comes out! Tweetgovernment,politics news,politics news,politics This entry was posted in Book Information, Review and tagged Book review, erin morgenstern, the night circus by admin. Bookmark the permalink. […]



Leave a Reply

