In Which A WIP is Printed

Just printed. Not published, not picked up by an agent or anything like that. Printed in that, I went to Kinko’s and paid them to print it for me so that I can now have people read it, and tell me what they think. It’s sitting on my table right now, all 275 pages of it – and it’s beautiful. Thick and lovely. Yes, I’m still talking about my book.

It’s always a pretty amazing experience when you print out your novel for the first time. Til this point, it only existed in you computer, on a screen that disappears when you shut the computer off. The paper is real. It won’t go away unless I rip it to shreds. I can touch, smell it. It smells like trees. Like ink. Like hours of hard work.

I can’t wait to hand it out and get feedback. I’m even a little excited to see the red pen that will soon be all over the pages. It only means that I can improve my story – and then print it again.

Let it begin!

How did you feel the first time you printed your book? Excited? Nervous? Tell me about it!

Comments
2 Responses to “In Which A WIP is Printed”
  1. Maggie says:

    I was amazed at the sheer volume of my book when I first printed it. It was so heavy in my hands… on the computer it felt very insubstantial. It’s exciting!

Leave a Reply

