In Which I Write a Movie

It’s a short movie. 3 pages, really. But a friend came into town this week and had an idea, only a few days to shoot it, and a will to get it made. So we’re doing it.

It’s interesting the way collaboration goes with people you’ve never worked with before. I had a bit of a spaz moment this week when the third person in our makeshift crew, a complete control freak like myself, started trying to control the scriptwriting. Damn it, that’s my job! Well, what did I do? I got worked up about it. I wanted the script to go my way. I am great at taking notes – but if you suggest putting those notes into my script with your hands, you are asking for trouble.

We worked it out. As much as I tend to bring out conflict in people and group situations, I am the type of person who can’t handle the stress of it for very long. I either need to solve it, or walk away from it. And luckily Boyfriend is the type of person who knows how to make me stop and think about the things I’m about to say to someone before I say them.

It’s made me wonder how people in the filmmaking biz can deal with things like that. As the writer, you should be able to own and modify your own work. The minute someone comes in and takes your script and begins adding scenes and subtracting them, whose work is it? As a writer, I’d prefer someone just tell me what changes need to be made and I’ll make them, rather than have another “professional” come in and fix things for me.

This is why I want to write television some day. Because, as far I know, tv writers at least get to do their own rewrites. And that, to me, is invaluable.

What do you think about writing? Is it completely yours, or do you have to let go and let someone else put their grubby paws on it at some point?

Comments
6 Responses to “In Which I Write a Movie”
  1. Well, Hannah, I’m somewhat of a control freak too, lol. Well, at least when it come to my own work. I believe, knowing how things are in the film industry, with writers being at the bottom(for some strange reason) you have to be ready to accept certain things.

    Either be ready to let go of your work once you sell it and just be a Writer, position yourself within the project or the industry itself to where you have a bit more control over your work like a Writer/Director, or be willing to make the film yourself, independently, maybe like a Writer/Producer.

    Overall, Ownership is true power in this world. The more you “own” your work, the more able you are to do whatever you want with it. When you sell your work, or pieces of it, you’re actually selling your power/control over it.

    That is my humble view, lol.

    • Well here was the difference with this project – we’re all friends, peers, who came together to just make a fun film. So if this was the industry, I’d be 100% on board with you. As this is not something that was made as a part of the industry, not something that was made with money, and not something we were hired to do, and since it was a group of peers, that was where the issues came from. You know what I mean? I completely understand the way the industry functions and the things writers at its hands. But I think there’s a difference in a situation like this.

      • Yeah, you are absolutely right. At least you guys got it worked out, but I probably would’ve reacted the same way you did to the situation. Matter of fact I know I would’ve, lol.

      • Haha well at least you can admit that about yourself! I definitely have pride issues I probably need to work on….

  2. thethresher says:

    Another reason why theatre is super awesome – the word and playwright is law.

    That being said, yeah, I don’t like it when other people start getting up in my creative grill.

Leave a Reply

