In Which I Am Editing Again

I am so confused by myself lately. I seem to have great discipline one day, and then none the next. I wrote 30,000 words in my old WIP and then just stopped. Uninspired? I don’t know. I have ideas I’d like to write, I know where the story needs to go.

But then Gold Valley started bothering me. It started as just a little reminder every once in a while, something I’d think about randomly and then forget seconds later. And then a few days later, I found myself wondering what would happen if this character that instead of the other thing, or what would happen if I began the story in this way instead of the first way. I started listening to my Gold Valley playlist, and abandoned the current WIP’s music. Got bored with it, even.

And then, yesterday, something happened, and I wrote a whole new beginning to the story. I went through half the book and edited out clunky sentences and ideas. I rearranged scenes and cut out a character. I did major reconstructive surgery – and I’m still going.

Perhaps I’m desperate to have a finished product. Maybe I am just at the point where something in my life needs to be done, wrapped up in a pretty bow. Everything has felt so unfinished lately, so open ended. Gold Valley is so close – isn’t it natural that I would gravitate towards the most done project I have and try to polish it up?

What about you? Have you ever found yourself editing or working on old projects without any explanation?

Comments
3 Responses to “In Which I Am Editing Again”
  1. Maggie says:

    One particular novel I have always manages to draw me back. It can be annoying, as it sucks up so much of my time, but as long as I’m making it better, I really don’t mind.

  2. Kayla Olson says:

    Ohhhh, I know this feeling! I have three projects going right now, one of them thisclose to being finished. It’s tempting to rush it, just for the sake of being done, but I know I’ll be more proud of the quality I produce if I’m patient with it. It’s so hard to be patient sometimes, though! 🙂 Good luck with your project(s), and stick with it. A little bit of work every day goes a long way—before you know it, you’ll have completed projects on your hands. 🙂

    • It is so hard to be patient! I find I end up working on other things when I start to rush projects, in the hopes that working on something will get my mind off it. But I’ve put this one down several times now – maybe it’s time to finish it!

Leave a Reply

