My Emo Writing Adventure

I wrote 2500 words last night and had a very emotional time doing so. If  you haven’t already checked out Gregory Alan Isakov – he is an indie musician with some pretty powerful, if mellow, music –  you should do so. Anyway, I was listening to dear Gregory, tears in my eyes, as I pounded at those ten odd pages.

Something happened to me as I wrote last night. I barely even remember writing those pages, barely remember those words coming from me. I do remember tears filling my eyes as the words filled up the page, as one character had an epiphany about his life while another started on a path to his own destruction. They didn’t laugh at me when I cried for them.

Boyfriend did, though. Jerk.

When I was done, I didn’t feel the pressure in my chest release. Usually when I’ve just finished writing such an emotional passage, something that inspires tears and strange dreams, I feel better. Relieved that it’s out of me. Not last night. I feel as though this means I’m not done yet, haven’t said everything that needs saying. My characters are still trying to tell me, “there’s more, there’s more!”

I plan to write again when I get home, Gregory Alan Isakov in the background, fueling my emo writing adventure. Guess we’ll see what happens!

What about you? Do you ever have  emotional experiences when you write?

Comments
One Response to “My Emo Writing Adventure”
Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] “My Emo Writing Adventure”:  If you think nobody cares if you’re alive, try missing a couple of […]



Leave a Reply

