In Which I Discover the True Ending To the Story

Pay attention to your dreams. Often they hold the key to finishing or beginning a story. Often they offer insights you have not yet considered.

Last night, I had a dream that gave me the true ending to my story. It was not the ending I had originally envisioned and yet, now that I have it, now that I know it, it is far more appropriate an ending than my original. It makes more sense, it incorporates more of my characters, and brings my story full circle. It more heavily involves one of my  characters, a former antagonist turned ally.

They always say to know your ending before you begin to write (at least in screenwriting) and I wholeheartedly believe in that.  The ending is the same ending – it just happens a little differently now.

Since picking up my WIP again, the first time since August, I have learned so much more about my main antagonist and his relationship to my main characters. They’re things I feel I should have known but didn’t. Things that I probably needed a good long break to see. And perhaps that’s why, after all this time, I’m finally inspired, finally writing the things I haven’t been able to write. A good long break is sometimes the only thing that let’s you step back and really see what your manuscript needs.

Speaking of antagonists, I highly suggest you go read Kristen Lamb’s blog and read her series on antagonists – it is informative and, sure you might already  know a lot of the things she talks about, but it’s always good to have a refresher.

What about you? Have you ever given up on a story, only to return to it months or years later?

Comments
2 Responses to “In Which I Discover the True Ending To the Story”
  1. Maggie says:

    Dreams often give me the beginnings of stories and I can usually imagine how the end would turn out. But it is true that when you know the ending, writing is a lot easier.

    • Yes, and I had it pounded in to my head in film school – know your ending, know your ending, know your ending. That doesn’t mean I’ve written stories without knowing it! It’s just a lot easier (for me, anyway) to direct my characters when I know where they’re going and what’s going to happen to them.

Leave a Reply

