I Thought You Liked Me, or, the Spam Is Winning

For some strange reason, I have signed into WordPress every day the last two weeks to find at least two spam messages waiting for me. Last week, I had a wopping THIRTY spam messages hanging out in my spam folder, waiting like sheep for me to savagely destroy them. Which I did. It was fun.

Some of them try to sound like a human being wrote them (those are the ones I hate the most), touting the great advice your article (article? Are you serious?) has bestowed. Or they tell you, listen! Your site is so great, let me help you get more traffic! Some of them I actually felt compelled to stop and read, just to make sure it was actually spam. It was.

This morning I logged in to find a modest two messages hanging out. They were complete gibberish. Numbers and randoms letters and even pound signs! What am I supposed to do with gibberish? Come on Spam-Mongers, you’re not even putting up a fight!

I would give you examples of the spam I’m finding, but sadly, I was a bit overzealous in my murderous rampage and they have all been obliterated. Not that you have never seen a true spam comment – the ones about toys for adult activities, or the ones about how your article (again, wtf?) helped them so much, it has inspired them to be teachers or entrepreneurs.

Ugh. What a way to start a Tuesday.

Do you hate Spam? If you’ve got a good spam story, tell us about it!

Comments
2 Responses to “I Thought You Liked Me, or, the Spam Is Winning”
  1. Cougar says:

    I know the plight. I have had some good ones though and if it is really a good spam comment I leave it. The best name I have come across was Burt Spurbeck so I left on his comment but this spam is by far my most favorite. It was creative, funny and there is the .05% chance it is true AND if it is true I better post it to free the guy!!

    HELP! I’m currently being held prisoner by the Russian mafia xyzrxyz enlargement xyzrxyz and being forced to post spam comments on blogs! If you don’t approve this they will kill me. xyzrxyz enlargement xyzrxyz They’re coming back now. Please send help!

Leave a Reply

