I’m Important In My Dreams, or, Why I Write

I remember lots of my dreams. Last night, I dreamed that I was a zombie hunter. I had a partner, and together we killed zombies left and right. But then I was bit – and you know what happened? I could still think, could still feel. I’d been killing creatures that still possessed rational thought.

I may have looked like this, but I still had a heart!

And then my partner came after me. I spent most of my dream trying to convince her that I was not evil, that I was not a mindless killing machine. I succeeded at the last second – and then I woke up.

I am able to play so many different parts in my dreams. In my previous post I talked about writing and acting, and how they go together. Writing allows me to play the parts I dream about, consciously and subconsciously. It allows me to be the star, to be the superhero, to be the risk taker. I am the leader of my army, the rescuer of gentlemen in distress, the sleuth who solves the mystery.

I write because it fulfills my desire to act, to experience the life of another character, another human being who is not me.

I write because, if you think about it, I’m basically schizophrenic.

Why do you write?

Comments
3 Responses to “I’m Important In My Dreams, or, Why I Write”
  1. Hi, I’m a photographer, and you may know me through Ben Garst! 😉

    Your posts are pretty cool! I like this site thing you’ve got set up. Keep on writing! I write for similar reasons! 😀

  2. Jessie says:

    I love your writing. It’s so down to Earth yet has a certain mysterious air about it. Keep writing, girl. xx

Leave a Reply

