Beginnings, Or, What I Learned From NaNoWriMo

I finished the outline for my new book last night and was immediately excited to begin writing. My heart pounded as I wrote the last few bullet points of my outline because the last scene is an intense one, and because I am so ready to write this story. I don’t know how I’ll feel in a few weeks, as that’s usually when my enthusiasm begins to lag. But I’m going to take what I learned from NaNoWriMo in terms of plowing forward and not editing yourself as you go, and I’m going to do my best to stay on track with this story.

This story scares me, as I’ve mentioned in previous posts. It’s quite unnerving. Part of what scares me is how well I seem to be identifying with my main antagonist – he’s not quite right in the head and he’s a serial killer. But something about him makes perfect sense to me – I don’t feel as though I’m an outsider trying to write how he appears to me. I’m perfectly capable of giving him thought and speech and it’s all very persuasive. Terrifying.

These are steep goals!

 

Despite my fears about mental stability, I am starting this story. I am 600 words in as of this afternoon and will continue tonight. I’d like to be done in two months. I found with NaNoWriMo that the strict deadline was really helpful for me. I’m a chronic self-editor and the realization that I just didn’t have time to do that if I wanted to finish was a bit of a wake up call. I have numerous unfinished projects that I believe are dead because I couldn’t give it a rest and just move forward.

So, here’s to 1100 words a day for the next two months! Let’s see if I can hack it.

Comments
3 Responses to “Beginnings, Or, What I Learned From NaNoWriMo”
  1. Best if luck! Am thinking of doing NaNoWriMo this year myself. Am terrified, of course.

  2. Maggie says:

    I am always sympathizing with my antagonists. And yeah, it can be a bit freaky! Good luck with your writing goals!

Leave a Reply

