Oh Writing Gods, Why oh Why Must I Use Twitter?

I can’t figure it out. I don’t understand it. Even when it’s explained, it goes in one ear and out the other. Or in one eyeball and out the other, since, you know I’ve been reading how-to’s for the last four hours.

I just updated my Twitter page. I think. I haven’t “tweeted” since October (what a dumb word) and a big part of that is because I didn’t know what I was doing. I still don’t. I have learned some cool words in the last few days – Hashtags, Retweet, Direct Message, etc. I just don’t know what they  mean.

I understand the importance of Twitter, which is why  I am attempting to learn it. But I am social media challenged, and electronically challenged, and many other kinds of challenged. The logic of Twitter escapes me.

Do you have a hard time with Twitter, or any of the other social networks that we writers are forced to use in order to market ourselves?

Comments
5 Responses to “Oh Writing Gods, Why oh Why Must I Use Twitter?”
  1. Ha! Well spoken. I’ve just recently signed up on the Twitter. It seems counter-intuitive, but I know that it’s part of our world. Like Facebook. The social network is not a fad. So many writers, etc. have shunned it and believe that it will simply cease to be. Unfortunately, we all have to get “plugged in”, and frankly that sucks.

  2. It’s not that bad once you get used to it. I think of it as micro blogging. My actual blog is where I post the big articles and thoughts and such, and Twitter is were I post things too small for my blog. well, hats how I look at it.

  3. Twitter is dreadful if you look at it as communication, because it’s a piss-poor form of communication. Think of it either as a.) announcements b.) links to bigger things or c.) haiku that has to do with marketing. The best tweets are the ones that provide useful information or make people laugh, and believe it or not, that is do-able in 140 characters. A few people do it well: try following @bookladysblog

    • I’m definitely starting to look at it more that way, than as a way of communicating with people. I’ve been using it more as a way to showcase myself and also throw out tidbits of wit (at least I think so) when I have them. I’ll definitely check out your suggestion! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

