Self-Editing, or Ripping Your Book To Pieces

I just finished reading a book called Self- Editing for Fiction Writers by Renni Browne and Dave King, two accomplished editors in the business.

I have to say, as far as books about writing go, this is definitely one of the more helpful and usable guides I’ve read. It breaks down professional writing piece by piece, starting with the easiest things to assess (like grammar and adverbs), and progressing into the more abstract elements of writing such as voice and sophistication. It in no way tries to tell you how to write, simply how to assess your own writing and decide for yourself what sounds and looks best.

I went through the first chapter of my NaNo book using their suggestions as guidelines for my editing and found so many of the things they were talking about – the repetition, the adverbs, the thinker attributes, too much interior monologue.

I have to say, though, my dialogue according rocks!

 

Comments
One Response to “Self-Editing, or Ripping Your Book To Pieces”
  1. I just might have to check that book out.

Leave a Reply

