Where There is a Hangover, There Are New Years Resolutions

And I do have them. Surely you can guess what a few of them are (eat better, exercise more, etc.), because we all have those same goals. But there is another goal that I have tacked onto my list of resolutions, thanks to my success in NaNoWriMo, and that is to finish the novel I started when I was 15 years old. Alright, so I already finished it once, when I was 18. It ended up at 85,000 words, which to this day I am proud of having written so much at so young.

But now I am rewriting. I love the story, love the characters, and I don’t feel like it will ever truly be out of my system until I’ve written it how it was meant to be written, how I always envisioned. Yes, things have changed. Elements have gone away and been replaced. But it feels right now, as it never really did before.

I started this summer, and managed to get halfway through, about 50,000 words in, before my inspiration puttered and died. Then, NaNoWriMo came along and made me realize that part of what hangs me up in my writing, what gets me halfway through and then stops me, is my overbearing need to go back over what I’ve just written and edit. And edit. And edit some more. NaNoWriMo taught me not to do that, to just revel in what I’m writing now, and then move past it. To only go back when it’s all done and you’ve had time to sleep on it.

So that is what I’m going to do now. I’m going to get over my self-editing habit and I’m going to write, freely and without worry, and then maybe I’ll finally finish this thing, once and for all.

Comments
One Response to “Where There is a Hangover, There Are New Years Resolutions”
  1. Yeah, I had to get over self editing too. Just get it done first and tweak it later. Good luck with your story.

Leave a Reply

