In Which I Still Have No Bathroom

The house remains unfinished, and I remain without internet. How am I posting this, you ask? I am illicitly using the internet at my work to post this. Why? Because it felt important.

I am still living in an unfinished house. Three weeks later, we still do not have a  bathroom, a kitchen, or real electricity. We are still using an extension cord, brought across the yard from the garage,  through the kitchen window, up the unfinished stairs, into our unfinished bedroom. Three weeks later, the crew still comes in the morning and leaves at night, and still the progress moves at a snail pace.

This is not like camping. If we were in a tent, I would be so much happier. In fact, I really should just consider buying one. Then I wouldn’t have to sleep in sawdust.

Alright, enough complaining.

Here are some things I feel good about: I finished writing the first season of a web series  so that students in a Production class at the University would have content to, well, produce. I was flattered that they thought of me, and, even though it was a little grueling, it will be nice to see others producing my content.

Also, I have made a goal for myself: Finish the WIP before November, which is NaNoWriMo, so that I can focus completely and solely on that endeavor. This means, if I’d like to produce another 60,000 words, that I need to write at least 1000 words a day. I think this is completely doable. Don’t you?

Comments
4 Responses to “In Which I Still Have No Bathroom”
  1. Oh, completely doable! I’m sure you’ll get it done. Good luck and swift progress!

  2. absurdbeats says:

    Thousand words a day is, as Scribereglyph observes, completely doable. I don’t particularly work by word-count, but when I’m in the midst of a new project, I often find that it doesn’t take much time to rack up the words.

    As for NaNoWriMo: I started it a couple of years ago, but stopped about 10 days in because it was messing with my mechanics. I tend not to use many adverbs or adjectives, but I was so keen on hitting the word count, I was adding in all kinds of extraneous crap and, frankly, not feeling great about it. I like the idea of NNWM, but, for me, it didn’t work.

    Has it worked for you?

    • I haven’t participated in NaNoWriMo as of yet – this will be my first year! I really don’t know if it’ll work for me either, since I tend to work in a similar way. But I figured it would be a way to challenge myself and see if I can work in a routine that is different from the one I’m used to. I don’t usually work by word count either, but for the purposes of NaNoWriMo, I think it will be an interesting way to prepare.

      Again, it might be a total failure of an experiment, but hey, it’s worth a try!

      Thanks for stopping by!

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] cleaned our (almost) entire house yesterday. Vacuumed away the construction dust, cleaned all of the kitchen counter tops with vinegar and water, rearranged the furniture in my […]



Leave a Reply

