In Which There is Christmas

Christmas is a time of giving, a time of family, and a time to celebrate those things you are thankful for in your life.

Or at least, that’s what it’s supposed to be – whether you call it Christmas, or Yule, or you celebrate a different holiday all together, one thing remains constant in all of them – we are here to show our loved ones how much we care, and how much we appreciate having them in our lives. So then why is it that Christmas has become about consumerism to a ridiculous degree? I don’t want to go too much into it, because this rant has been made many times before. But I had to say something.

Because my brother had a meltdown at Christmas when he wasn’t financially able to buy us all Christmas presents. Now, mind you, I’m not really financially able either – but I got him a $15 Barnes and Noble gift card because he got me a present last year and I didn’t return the favor. I figured I needed to buy into the consumerist attitude and show him how much I cared via money.

And he felt so bad that I got him a gift card when I’m in school and barely make any money – if I can do it, what stopped him? That was his logic and that was what made him break down on Christmas. And I felt so guilty because instead of making Kyle happy, instead of showing him how much I cared, I had made him feel guilty and helpless.

And if that is what Christmas has become, then I’m done with it right now. If I have no money – I’m not buying presents! End of story. I’ll bake cookies, or brownies, or something sweet and yummy. I’ll write cards and let my family know how I feel through my words. I’ll make clever coupons for back rubs, house cleaning, foot massages. If presents are not in my budget, then they aren’t. And I don’t have to go above and beyond showing my family how much I “care” by spending what I don’t have. They’ll know.

And that’s that.

Leave a Reply

