Baby, it’s cold outside, or Frostbitten

Here in Colorado, the temperature is -3 degrees Fahrenheit. That’s right. It’s way, way below freezing and I am expected to go to work at 8 a.am. Okay, so that truly isn’t that bad considering some of us work graveyard shifts, or wake up at 4 in the morning to be at the office. So for the most part, I am complaining because I do not have the appropriate winter wardrobe to accomodate this freeze and goshdarnit, it’s frickin’ cold.

Furthermore, I have 4 weeks to decide on a topic for my senior project – as a screenwriter who wants to break into the television industry, I am finding this difficult. Write a short script and they probably won’t think I did enough. Start on a feature length and I risk losing inspiration and not getting it done. I have decided on writing an original television pilot, but now comes the part where I have no good ideas. The best I have so far is a guy who finds out he’s a wizard and goes to wizard school, and we all know how many times that’s been done….

Sometimes I think about what it would be like to meet Joss Whedon and work on one of his shows. I imagine it will go something like this:

Joss: Hannah, I saw your blog, and I have to tell you, I think you’re extraordinary!

Me: Oh Joss, do ya mean it?

Joss: Well, not really. Old habits die hard.

Me: Well…can I still work for you?

Joss: Eh. Sure, why not. They canceled Firefly, they canceled Dollhouse…at this point, I don’t see them letting me write much more anyway. Your first job will be to babysit my kids.

Me: Oh.

Joss: But hey, there’s always the sci fi channel. They’ll take anything.

If anyone has any ideas, any at all, feel free to drop me a line. Or help me write my pilot for me. Joss, please don’t look down on me. I’m just a kid.

Leave a Reply

