In Which I Have Qualms With Theatre

Yes, I said it. I do. I have qualms with theatre. Or, more correctly, I have qualms with UC Denver theatre. I have qualms with having to take direction from someone who has never directed a day in her life (and if she has, well, she’s fooled us all so far!). I have qualms with the student-written plays that I must read. Though they are better than some, students are still slightly one dimensional when it comes to writing plays. I am a student, so I’m allowed to say this. I also have qualms with getting out of rehearsal at 11 o’clock.

Okay, okay, so I’m complaining quite a bit. I know, I will always have to take direction from someone who doesn’t know what they’re doing. It’s almost like a rite of passage that one experiences over and over and over…and I know, students are students because they’re learning -they’ll get better. Hopefully. I know that 11 o’clock is not that bad. It’s not even as bad as some film shoots I’ve been on or will be on.

But I’m tired. I’m tired of not being proud of my school and it’s students. I’m tired of thinking that my teachers are arrogant prigs.

I’m tired of complaining.

So it stops now. For a while.

It’s raining outside. I’ve been thinking about getting a skeleton key tattooed on my ribcage. My boyfriend is wonderful.

Life is pretty damn good.

Leave a comment